728 banner ad
220 banner ad

Nominations Now Open for 2020 Influential Women in Trucking Award

| June 19, 2020

Winner must have a proven record of responsibility and have mentored or served as a role model to other women in the industry

The Women In Trucking Association (WIT) and Freightliner Trucks are seeking nominations for the 2020 Influential Woman in Trucking award. 

A decade ago, the award was created to honor women who make or influence key decisions in a corporate, manufacturing, supplier, owner-operator, driver, sales or dealership setting. The winner must have a proven record of responsibility and have mentored or served as a role model to other women in the industry. 

“When I first started my career, there were very few women in the trucking industry let alone in leadership positions,” said Kary Schaefer, general manager, Freightliner and Western Star product marketing and strategy, Daimler Trucks North America. “It’s amazing to see how the industry has changed and women are now a driving force in all areas of trucking. Freightliner is proud to sponsor this award and recognize those women who are not only making a difference in their own roles but for all women in the trucking profession.” 

Nominations will be accepted through July 31 at https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/2020InfluentialAward.

The winner will be announced at the WIT Accelerate! Conference & Expo held in Dallas, Texas, September 23 – 25. Each finalist will be asked to serve as a panelist for the “How Remarkable Women Unleash their Leadership Potential” panel discussion. Those that nominate a candidate need to ask the nominee to save the date for this event if she is named a finalist.

“The Influential Woman in Trucking Award honors extraordinary female leaders who have been advocates and role models to others,” said Ellen Voie, president and CEO of Women In Trucking Association.”With 2020 being the tenth anniversary of the award, I’m more excited than ever to see the caliber of nominations submitted.”

Past recipients of the Influential Woman in Trucking award include: Marcia Taylor, CEO of Bennett International Group; Rebecca Brewster, President and COO, American Transportation Research Institute; Joyce Brenny, President of Brenny Transportation, Inc./Brenny Specialized, Inc.; Rochelle Bartholomew, CEO of CalArk International; Kari Rihm, President of Rihm Kenworth; Ramona Hood, currently president and CEO at FedEx Custom Critical; Daphne Jefferson, Former U.S. Department of Transportation, FMCSA; Angela Eliacostas, Founder and CEO, AGT Global Logistics; and Ruth Lopez, director, transportation management, Ryder System, Inc.

Category: Driver Stuff, Featured, General Update, Management, News, People

Comments are closed.